Charlie

*originally drafted March 2017*

A long while has passed since I’ve felt an urge to write or take photos, hence a hiatus from the blog. Life in West Michigan has often felt pedestrian to me, overly worn; save for a handful of moments in summer and fall around my childhood home, inspiration and a voice searching for an audience has been dismally absent.

As I gaze at my sleeping child this evening, I listen to another sound beyond that of my inner thoughts. His wheezy snores and tiny sighs transcend all the lost sleep that preceded and followed his arrival. The slight flutters of his eyelids as he dreams pique my curiosity; what does he see as sleeps? Who will my tiny boy become? What will be his inspirations as he grows?

For now, I stroke his hair and marvel at its blondeness, a sight I thought I’d never see from my children! He is the paramount of perfection in his mother’s eyes, as certainly all babies are, particularly when they slumber.

He gives me renewed drive and I pray his father and I can help him cultivate his own.

dsc_3820

captain-fluff-n-stuff

Leave a comment

Filed under Introspections

Leave a comment